What Requirements Must Be Met For a Child to Work in Maryland?
Over the holidays, many students are out of school and looking to make some money by getting a job. This can be an important time for employers -- and potential employees -- to be sure they are in compliance with Maryland laws regarding employment of children.
In this state, a person under the age of 14 is prohibited from working, except in a few specific roles. Minors over the age of 14 are allowed to work, but they are required to have a work permit and employers must observe strict rules regarding wages and hours.
In Maryland, any child who is 14 or 15 years old is limited to working no more than 40 hours a week when school is not in session, and 32 hours when school is in session. During this time of year, a child cannot work past 8 p.m. and is prohibited from started a job before 7 a.m.
If a worker is 16 or 17, the requirements are less restrictive but they take into account school hours. A minor of these ages cannot exceed 12 hours of work and school in one day; and in every 24-hour period, a child must be allowed eight consecutive hours when he or she is not working or in school.
There are federal and state laws that set strict rules for child labor. Employers must be sure they are in compliance with Maryland laws and federal laws when applicable. They can do this by speaking with an attorney and discussing any potential issues involving minor employees.
Violating the laws that govern child labor in Maryland and the U.S. can be grounds for serious penalties. In order to avoid these penalties, employers must be sure they take steps to prevent unlawful hiring and comply with hour and wage laws when a person under the age of 18 is employed.